Tywin Lannister Goes to Barcelona

I love me some HBO.  It’s like a restaurant or a bar where you know they only have the good stuff. Their body of work to date has been impressive : Sopranos, True Detective, Band of Brothers, and of course, The Wire (the best thing I’ve ever watched on TV, with Breaking Bad coming a close second).  I could go on and on about the other shows on HBO, but I wanted to talk about the latest thing, which is Game of Thrones.

And given the recent turn of events, it triggered a memory about a year ago when I was flying from London to Barcelona when I saw someone familiar on the plane.  It was Tywin Lannister.

Tywin He looked as if he didn’t want to be disturbed and he had the same displeased bitchy-resting-face as the picture above.  And now I know actor’s name is Charles Dance.  But I didn’t know it at the time.  He looks roughly the same in real life, except for hair that looks like it was in a pony tail at one point but had escaped.

I wanted to say hello to him but really debated whether I should or not.  This is after a 12 hour transatlantic flight with a cast member of the TV show Glee sitting pretty close to me.

I’m from Los Angeles, so I know a thing or two about approaching celebrities.

Here are the rules:

1) Don’t.

Don’t approach celebrities.  Just don’t.  They don’t want to be bothered.  And really it’s a reflection on who you are as a person.  You are just too cool and INSOUCIANT to be bothering “celebrities” — I mean, right?  (There was a time when I had to quiet down an out of town friend who was freaking about seeing Kiefer Sutherland a few years ago at a local restaurant.  I told him to be cool because that’s what Angelenos do and PLUS Kiefer is just totally TV y’know?)

2) Know their names.

I think this was a bigger issue before smart phones.  But I was on an airplane, arriving in Spain, so I had a slew of reasons why I didn’t google the actor that plays Tywin Lannister and see that he has a pretty impressive resume.  Royal Shakespeare Company fools.  Let me emphasize, I did not know his actual name.

3) Know a few of their earlier works.

Again, see number 2.

4) Don’t approach after a plane flight

Granted it was a two hour flight from London to Barcelona, but who likes to fly these days?  I am probably the most anti-social right after an airplane flight.  He didn’t look happy — almost angry, like he would kill babies or bang his son’s true love.  You know, ruthless.

So with all the above being said, I did approach him as we were deplaning — we were sitting roughly in the same area.  The exchange went something like this:

Me: Are you who I think you are?

Tywin Lannister/Charles Dance: WHAT DOES THAT MEAN?

Yeah, he was pretty furious.  He stormed off.

Tywin: 1 Me: 0

And I will say this in hindsight, I was totally in the wrong.  But man oh man, I don’t think it was much of a push for him to play Tywin.

I’m team Tyrion.

One thought on “Tywin Lannister Goes to Barcelona

Leave a Reply

